Panama City Government

Panama City, Florida is the county seat of Bay County, Florida. Panama City has a commission-manager form of government. The City Commission consists of the mayor and four commissioners. One commissioner is elected from each of the City's four wards and one commissioner is elected at large and serves as the mayor-commissioner at large. The Commission passes ordinances, adopts resolutions, adopts the city's budget and sets the policies for the operation of the city government. The administrative responsibility of the city rests with the city manager who is appointed by the City Commission.

Law Enforcement

The primary law enforcement agency in the city is the Panama City Police Department. The city and the rest of Bay County are also under the jurisdiction of the Bay County Sheriff's Office.

For Panama City Beach government information please see this page.

Contact Information and Websites


  • City Hall contact info applies to:
    City Commission
    Business Licenses
    Community Development
    Employment - HR
    City Engineering & Planning
    Water, Sewer & Garbage